Oatmeal Fudge Bars

Whenever I bake anything with oatmeal, I convince myself that I’m being healthy.
I mean, these bars sound healthy… Until you mention the fudge part. But then again, I’m not really about being healthy when I bake. Actually, I’m probably the complete opposite – the more chocolate, butter, and sugar the better. Today someone at work commented on how they’re on a diet so they never eat anything I bring in, and that I should make something with fruit… And while I do love fruit, baking with it isn’t exactly my style. So unfortunately for them, I’ll be continuing my sugar loaded baking adventures.
Anyway, back to the actual recipe.
Seriously though, these oatmeal fudge bars are delicious – there’s a layer of fudge sandwiched between layers of soft oatmeal. While they’re bit of a mission to eat without getting crumbs all over the place or yourself, these are totally worth it and your tastebuds will be thanking you!

Oatmeal Fudge Bars

Here’s how to make them:

Ingredients:

For the oatmeal layers:

1 cup butter (I used salted)
2 eggs
2 cups of brown sugar
1/3 cup milk
2 tsp of vanilla
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of salt
3 cups oatmeal

For the fudge layer:

1 can of sweetened condensed milk
1/3 cup butter
1 tsp of vanilla
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
In your mixer, combine the butter, eggs, and brown sugar for the oatmeal layer. Once that’s all mixer together, you can add in all the dry ingredients and mix that all together.
In a greased 13×9 pan, add in 3/4 of the oatmeal mixture. Just gauge by how it looks – it doesn’t have to be perfect!
In a saucepan set to low/medium, melt together the butter, sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, and chocolate chips. Then pour this over the oatmeal in the pan. Mine was a little thick because I started it too early, so I used a spatula to try and spread it a little more evenly.
Spoon the rest of the oatmeal on top of the fudge – it probably won’t cover the whole top, which is okay!
Bake for about 25 minutes.
At around the 20 minute mark, check to make sure the top isn’t going to overcook. If it looks like it’s done, you can put some foil on top to prevent it from burning while the rest still bakes.

This recipe is so easy, and it tastes amazing.
I brought some of it into work, and people were complimenting me on it all day! Bring a plate of these in, and you’ll be employee of the month in no time!

Recipe adapted from Living Beyond Measure

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal Fudge Bars

Leave a Reply

