Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

Just thinking about the phrase ‘caramel stuffed chocolate chip cookies’ makes my mouth water. I mean, chocolate chip cookies are great on their own, but when combined with caramel… That’s a whole other story.

Usually I don’t use caramel too often, unless I’m making some to put in turtle squares (those will definitely be a future post because they’re delicious). It’s not that I have anything against it, I just occasionally forget it exists. Last week, during my baking adventures I bought way too many caramel squares than necessary for my project. So, when tasked with using up extra caramel squares, what does one do? Stuff them inside of chocolate chip cookies, obviously!

Here’s what they ended up looking like:

Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

And here’s how you can recreate them:

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of butter (I know it might seem like a lot, but it’s worth it! Also, I used salted)
1 1/2 cups of packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup of granulated sugar
2 eggs (I used large)
4 tsp of vanilla extract
4 cups of all purpose flour (In my version I used 4 of all purpose, but the original recipe calls for 2 of all purpose and 2 of bread flour. I just used all purpose because it was what I had, but depending on what’s convenient for you you can experiment – just make sure it equals 4 cups in the end)
4 tsp of corn starch
2 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of salt (if using salted butter, you don’t really need the extra salt)
1 1/2 semi sweet chocolate chips*
1 1/2 milk chocolate chips*
caramel squares, cut in half
optional: skor bites

*These are just approximate, I tend to add more chocolate than is necessary because, lets be real, chocolate is awesome. If you prefer less chocolate, use less, and if you like more, add more. This recipe is about you and what you like. Just keep in mind this recipe does yield a lot of dough.

Instructions:

Your oven will need to be heated to 350 degrees, so depending on how fast or how slow your oven takes to preheat, turn it on at the appropriate time.
In a large mixing bowl (I used the one that came with my stand mixer so it was less dishes to do) combine the butter and both kinds of sugar. Using the paddle attachment on the mixer, let that mix for about 2 minutes until it was smooth.
Once that is mixed, add the eggs as well as the vanilla, and mix for about another 2 minutes.
Next, add the corn starch, baking soda, and flour slowing to the mixture. Remember, you’re using a large amount of flour so add it slowly and use the mixer on a low setting or else you’re going to have a huge mess on your hands. Keep mixing this until everything is all combined.
Since there was so much cookie dough in the bowl, I used a wooden spoon to stir in the chocolate chips until they were well incorporated.

Hopefully, your dough will look something like this:

Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

To stuff the cookies, I used a dough scoop to make balls of dough and placed half of a caramel square in each scoop of dough, then rolled the dough in a ball in order to cover the square.

Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

Cover your baking sheet with parchment paper, and place your dough on it until the sheet is full.
On some of the cookies, I put some pieces of crushed skor on top to give it some extra flavour, but it’s totally up to you. These cookies are delicious enough that they don’t need it – I just always get compliments when I incorporate skor into my cookies.
Place them in the oven and bake for 11-13 minutes. When your timer goes off, they cookies will probably look slightly undercooked – and that’s okay! They will continue to bake a bit once you take them out of the oven. If you keep them in too long they might burn and won’t be as soft and chewy as they are supposed to be.

Ta-da, you are now the proud owner and creator of some kick-ass cookies!

Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

Don’t they look delicious? Because I think they do. So I decided to try one, and guess what?
They were amazing. 

Recipe adapted from Table for Two

3 thoughts on “Caramel Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful and everything looks so good! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

