Glazed Donuts

Today is my first official post and attempt at being a baking blogger – hopefully this is the first of many to come!

Lately I’ve been really into homemade donuts. I have no idea why, but that’s just my current fascination. I’ve been scouring pinterest for the yummiest and easiest looking recipe to try – and I finally made my first go at a homemade donut. While I’ve tried the version where you use canned biscuit dough and you fry it, to me it just wasn’t the same. But this recipe that I’m going to share with you is extremely yummy, as well as super easy!

Here’s what the finished product looks like:

Dounts

And here’s how to make it:

Ingredients:

For the dough:

3 cups of flour (I used all purpose)
3 tsp of baking powder
1/2 tsp of salt
2 eggs (large)
2/3 cups of granulated sugar
1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
3 tbs butter (I used salted, but unsalted would work since there’s salt already in the recipe)
1/2 milk
Oil for frying

Additional options: To give the donuts a more old fashioned taste, you can include nutmeg and cinnamon – about 1/2 tsp each (the same amount is fine if you decide to just include one of the options as well)

For the glaze:

1 1/2 cups of icing sugar
3-4 tbs of milk
2 tsp of vanilla extract

Instructions:

For the dough:

Measure out your milk, and let sit so it can get to room temperature.
Measure out your butter, melt it, and let sit so it can get to room temperature as well.
In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and the salt. Put aside while you combine the other ingredients.
In another large mixing bowl, combine your eggs and sugar. Using a mixer (I used a stand mixer on about level 5) mix until it appears a light colour – about 4-5 minutes.
Start to combine the milk, butter, and flour mixture all into one bowl on a low speed until it forms a dough. Keep it in the bowl, cover it with plastic wrap, and let it sit for about 30 minutes or until it’s a good consistency to be able to handle.
Clear a work surface, and sprinkle some flour onto it so your dough won’t stick. I found it easier to work with about a quarter of the dough at a time, but depending on how much space you have you can use more or less at once.
Flour your rolling pin so the dough doesn’t stick to that, and roll out the dough until it is about 1/4 of an inch thick.
If you have a dount cutter, use that and start cutting the donuts and separating them from the holes. If you don’t have a cutter (like me) there are a few options that you have. If you just want to make donut holes, a small round cookie cutter will do the trick, or a shot glass actually makes the perfect sized circles. If you want to make actual donuts, you can use a round glass to make the first circle, and a really small container, cookie cutter, or like I mentioned before – a shot glass. The ones that are shown in the picture were made by using a glass for the outside, and a small heart cookie cutter for the inside to make them look a little unique. They’re your creation, so make them however you want to!
In order to cook them, put about 2 inches of oil into a deep pot on the stove, and turn it to about medium heat. All the recipes I looked at said to make sure the oil is 350 degrees, but I just tested it out by dropping some left over dough into the pot to see if it was frying or not. Depending on the heat of your oil and your circumstances, they can take anywhere from 1 minute per side to a couple of minutes. In all honesty, I just went by the colour of the donut. Once it was a golden brown colour, I took it out and set it on a plate covered in paper towel. Just be careful, and keep an eye on it as working with hot oil is always tricky.

Recipe adapted from Joy of Baking

For the glaze:

Put all the ingredients into a bowl and mix – it’s seriously that simple.  I used closer to 4 tbs of milk because my glaze was too thick when I tried to dip the first donut.
To make the clean up easy, put a piece of parchment paper or wax paper on top if a wire cooling rack and then once you’ve dipped the donuts just place them on there until the glaze sets.
If you want to make them extra fancy, you could top with sprinkles, chocolate curls, coconut, or anything your heart desires!

Recipe adapted from Just a Taste

Overall, this recipe results in a delicious looking (and tasting) golden brown donut that has a crispy exterior and a soft inside. I’d definitely bake these again, but I’m still on the hunt for the perfect donut recipe. So if you happen to know one, I’d love to hear about it! 🙂

Have an awesome day, and happy baking!

Leave a Reply

